danaxarchi.blogg.se

Windows home server 2011 devices
Windows home server 2011 devices













windows home server 2011 devices
  1. #Windows home server 2011 devices install#
  2. #Windows home server 2011 devices update#
  3. #Windows home server 2011 devices Pc#
  4. #Windows home server 2011 devices plus#
  5. #Windows home server 2011 devices free#

That's not to say that you cannot install one, or even use desktop Ubuntu as a server, but that would be even more resource wasteful. GUIs on servers is only normal on Windows, but I hear the latest Windows Server threw that out as well. While doing everything graphically was fine on Windows because it can't really do anything else, Linux servers rule with the terminal. The insistence on graphical stuff is going to do nothing but eliminate a lot of the best options and just make it harder to get stuff working properly. Rsync and a cron job is basically how you do this on Linux. While Linux can read NTFS fine and stuff, it doesn't have any of the tools needed for maintaining NTFS file systems, so it'll just degrade and degrade over time because the design was crap enough that it can't keep itself tidy. Honestly it's more work than it's worth.Īfaik Samba doesn't care what filesystem you use, in which case go with ext4. If you absolutely must use a GUI though then there's nothing stepping you from just installing a DE or a WM and using that if you're able to get VNC or whatever working on it so you can forward an X session. Just SSH into it and use it headless like basically every other Linux server. Never seen a server with a monitor on it. GUI on a server is honestly a new thing to me. Already got a plan for Samba, rsync and mdadm to take over, as well as switching my MySQL server and house ticket system from a Raspberry Pi to the main server. Keep the good suggestions coming, I'm starting to have a good feeling about switching.ĮDIT 2: Gonna take down the server and install Ubuntu this weekend. Now that I think about it this machine does have an old low powered AMD Turion CPU, I should probably go without a GUI just to keep things speedy. I'm pretty comfortable with one actually, I just really didn't want to have to figure out cron and rsync, but some of the comments here are swaying me. What is a good Linux based equivalent of SyncBackPro? All I really want is a backup program with a fairly easy to use GUI, scheduled backups, and the ability to perform differential backups.Īny advice or suggestions are appreciated.ĮDIT: Ok ok, I'll use a damn shell lol. Is there a Linux equivalent, or do most distros have a similar utility built in?ĭoes the file system of the RAID array matter? Should I stick with NTFS for compatibility's sake or is there something else I should use? I'm primarily going to be sharing files with Windows PCs, but also a couple Raspberry Pi systems. So my RAID array is easily set up in the BIOS, but from the OS I use a utility called AMD RaidXpert. I do it when I have to but I'd rather have something easier. Did that change at all? I'd like to use a GUI as much as possible since I'm not a huge fan of editing. I remember using Ubuntu Server years ago and IIRC it doesn't install a GUI by default. I am concerned about working with RAID in Linux though as I do not have much experience there, as well as having some other concerns. Not worried about the shared folders part because I've set up Samba before. I'm pretty comfortable with Linux and command lines so I'm thinking of switching to Ubuntu Server.

#Windows home server 2011 devices update#

WHS 2011 is all borked up (Windows Update is broken and the service is actually somehow missing) and I don't feel like fixing it. Has a couple shared folders so my wife and I can easily access files from our respective computers and devices. I use a commercial program called SyncBackPro for this because I used it at a previous job and it was very easy to use. The contents of the array are copied here once a week, at 11pm on Sunday into Monday morning.

#Windows home server 2011 devices Pc#

Besides the additional maintenance, on drawback is that my shop PC can no longer hibernate after a period of disuse.I have a nice little HP ProLiant Microserver N40L with Windows Home Server 2011 installed on it. The other option I considered is much more decentralized-Acronis True Image on all the PCs, a NAS unit, and moving the SQL and web stuff to my shop PC. I'd rather not do custom hardware, for one because I hate researching what parts to buy anymore. I'm now looking at an HP Microserver with upgraded RAM, disks, and WHS 2011. I'd planned to buy an off the shelf box but HP discontinued the right before 2011 came out. The hardware was repurposed so it's a good 6 or 7 years old with the exception of the drives which were added when I got WHS.

#Windows home server 2011 devices free#

I love the automated backup and I love that it's based on Windows Server so I was able to install the free edition of SQL Server 2008 and develop a couple things for myself and run them on the WHS box.

#Windows home server 2011 devices plus#

Our household has three laptops plus my shop PC. I've had a Windows Home Server box for a few years now.















Windows home server 2011 devices